My First (and last) Four Month Hiatus, Pancakes, and Thai.

Wow, it’s been a MINUTE. My apologies, life got hectic there for a second. Let me count the ways: settling into a new job, the holidays, turning one year wiser, adopting a new diet and a new outlook on life.

And speaking of adopting, alerts for specific dog breeds at
rescue shelters have also been set. :-)

Anywho, all of life’s changes have been swell. I will dive into each one specifically in future blog posts. For now, I will hip you to two new recipes from this weekend. Thai Chicken Couscous (slightly adapted from How Sweet it Is) and Coconut Milk and Ricotta Pancakes, a recipe I don’t have to cite at all because I kind of just made it up on my own but I promise it’s very delicious.

First, let’s discuss the Thai Chicken Couscous

Image

You can find the recipe here. I pretty much followed the recipe exact except I subbed the Quinoa for Couscous only because I didn’t have quinoa on hand and didn’t feel like making three grocery trips in one week. Quinoa has much more protein per serving so if you have the option you should definitely go with the original recipe. If you’re a leftover snob like me, you should know that this stores really well and is the perfect work lunch.

Moving right along to my very own creation!!

Ricotta Pancakes w/ Coconut Milk

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3 tsps baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbls sugar
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbls melted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese

Directions

  1. Stir the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt until just combined.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk the coconut milk, egg, melted butter, and vanilla until smooth.
  3. Add the ricotta cheese to your bowl of liquid ingredients and mix until just combined.
  4. Gently fold the dry ingredients into your wet ingredients.
  5. Melt butter in a medium pan over medium heat.
  6. Add the batter using a 1/4 cup or 1/3 cup (depending on how large you like your pancakes). Cook for one to two minutes on each side.

Top with powdered sugar. If you’re using syrup do us both a favor and be sure you’re only using pure, organic maple syrup. Why? Because it’s the best. I would never steer you wrong.

Later this week: Orzo Salad and/or Curried Couscous Salad. Both are undeniably good.

Leave a Reply

