Sunday Post: Chocolate Chip Muffins

Hello! Here’s the Sunday post I promised.

Let me start by saying this: I’m having a dilemma with “the middle rack rule” in my oven. For years I have ignored the middle rack rule and cooked/baked food on the second highest rack and things always seemed to turn out fine. Lately, I’ve been diligent about following the middle rack rule and it’s been nothing short of a nightmare. For those that don’t know, the middle rack rule (a phrase that may or may not exist) is just a preferred method of cooking (usually). Many recipes ask that you adjust your rack to the middle of the oven before cooking and I believe it’s supposed to help food items cook more evenly but it appears to be having the opposite effect for me. Typicalll.

However, I can’t blame this all on the rack rule. I’m also using an oven different than what I’m used to using and that’s probably a much larger reason as to why things aren’t turning out perfect. Regardless, the end result has been a baked good cooked on the outside but a tad bit underdone on the inside. I might start ignoring that rule again.

Other Sunday news… I had tea for the first time in two weeks. As you all know I found a new addiction in loose-leaf tea earlier this year after more than a year of filtered (mostly Tazo) tea bags. Before that I was an espresso drink girl and part-time coffee drinker. I gave up coffee last year due to some stomach issues that seem never-ending but about a month ago I was reintroduced to my old fling as my cousin had a brunch at her house and served coffee with Bailey’s. Um, when I say delish…I mean delish. Ever since I’ve been drinking coffee almost daily. My roommate has a Keurig so (almost) immediately after brunch I went to BBB and purchased some K-Cups and that was the beginning of my coffee affair. Needless to say the several tins of loose-leaf tea in my cabinet have been feeling a bit lonely so I drank some (Jasmine) tea while baking muffins. I had some choco-chips I needed to use and I couldn’t decide between chocolate-chip cookies or chocolate-chip muffins. I originally decided on cookies until I realized I didn’t have everything I needed for it…muffins it is. Also, I need something easy and on the go to eat in the morning because I’ve officially broken up with Luna Bars (long story, next time). I got this recipe from The Kitchn, one of my favorite food blogs. A great resource. The Kitchn taught me how to brown butter and browned butter is actually the secret in my sugar cookie recipe, shhh.

Image

The recipe is below, the picture is above. Again, bare with me as I work to improve my food photography skills. I also need to do a better job at making sure I have all the ingredients out before I take the picture. I failed once again, I think all that’s missing in that picture is sugar.

Last but not least friends and strangers, I have a pound of green split peas that I’d like to use but I can’t for the life of me figure out what to make. Are split peas and lentils interchangeable? If not, the only recipe I’ve come across is split pea soup. I don’t particularly want to make that but I guess I’ll have to if no one else informs me of something new!

OH, wait, one more thing. I have a large amount of steel cut oats that I purchased (by accident), I also need a recipe for that. All I’ve seen so far is slow cooker oatmeal which is cool but I’m kind of looking for a bread or muffin recipe..or anything really. Enlighten me.

I wasn’t planning on posting today (even though I promised I would) but the rain got me in the mood. A silent apartment, scented candles, and rain against the windowpane…couldn’t ask for a better Sunday night.

Bye bye now, peep the recipe below 🙂

Ingredients – Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 2 tsps. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time until completely incorporated.
  3. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the flour to the butter mixture, alternating with the milk, while continuing to beat until just mixed (ending with flour).
  4. Stir in the vanilla and chocolate chips.
  5. Line 8 cups in a standard muffin tin with cupcake liners. Mound the batter into the liners, filling almost to the top.*
  6. Cook the muffins for 20 – 25 minutes. Allow to the muffins to cool directly in the pan for 5 minutes, then remove to a cooling rack.

* I didn’t use liners when I made mine as I have non-stick bakeware and it turned out just fine, FYI!

Source: The Kitchn

Leave a Reply

