From Scratch Snob

Yeee, the rumors are true ladies & gents. I’m a from scratch snob. I turn my nose up at desserts made from a box, fruit out the can, boxed mashed potatoes etc. It’s disgusting. Also, where’s the fun in that? It’s just not fun to make ANYTHING that requires you to just add water. Also, it almost always never tastes as good. So why do it?

Well, actually, I can answer that question. TIME. Let me tell you a funny and hypocritical story:

Upon graduating from college I moved home and lived with my parents for a little over a year. Out of those twelve months I was unemployed and (desperately) looking for a job for five of them. Also, during that time my mom got a new job that keeps her ridiculously busy. Growing up she cooked every day of the week except Saturday (we would go out to dinner). Okay, so, due to those two factors my mom implemented a rule that required me and my dad to each cook once a week. I don’t think my dad was as excited about this as I was but hot diggity I was happy! I had all this time on my hands, I loved to cook, and I wasn’t spending my own money on the ingredients. I had it made. Each week I’d pick some ridiculous recipe, go to the grocery store around 1pm, start prepping at 3:30 or 4pm and had dinner on the table by the time both of my parents got home around 6pm. Yes, this was an awesome time. It also allowed for me to fill up my very first leather-bound recipe book!

Now…the sad part. I started working full-time last November. Unfortunately the rule about me having to cook did not change. The first few weeks I would still try to make these extravagant recipes but sometimes we weren’t able to eat dinner until around 8pm or so. Ridiculous. My dad didn’t like it and I also didn’t like working an entire day and then coming home to cook for an additional two hours. I’m so scared to be a mom.

Anywho, I eventually gave up on the fancy meals…I had to find some easier and faster options. I STILL NEVER STOOPED SO LOW AS TO USE CANNED VEGGIES but I did start buying fish that was already seasoned at the grocery store or pre-made salads or veggies in steam bags etc. It also forced me to scour the food blogs for “30-minute meals,” one-dish meals, etc. Long story short I was able to find a lot. I was also able to find meals that were still “fancy” but they just didn’t take entirely too long to cook. All was well.

Anyway, today’s post is somewhat related to the story above. I was craving Alfredo sauce today and did you know you don’t have to buy pasta sauce in a jar? Yes, you can make Alfredo sauce from scratch just as easily as you can warm up the pre-made stuff! You can thank me later. This recipe is also great for those of you that’s cooking for one (insert sad face) because it only makes a few servings.  Not quite sure where I got this recipe from so I cant cite it like I do the others but I guess it doesn’t really matter because no “one” food blog invented Alfredo sauce, lol. I always use Farfelle or Orecchiette for my pasta dishes but you could use whatever you like.

Ingredients – Alfredo Sauce

  • Half pint of heavy whipping cream
  • 3 Tbs. butter
  • 1/2 grated Parmesan cheese
  • Salt
  • Nutmeg

Directions

  1. Melt butter over medium heat.
  2. Stir in heavy whipping cream.
  3. Stir in Parmesan cheese, salt, and nutmeg.
  4. Simmer for 5 minutes or until everything is combined.
  5. Toss in with pasta.

Other ingredients you could add to your Alfredo: egg yolk (yes, it’s been done before), minced garlic, and/or chopped parsley. Add as much or as little as you’d like. Make it your own! A lot of recipes say just a dash of nutmeg but I always add way more. That’s my “twist.”

PS. Sorry for all the recipe posts, I promise my next post will be about something else. 🙂

PPS. Although I just talked about how disgusted I am with food not made from scratch please realize that I’m being somewhat of a hypocrite. I still frequent fast-food restaurants and we all know how disgusting that is. AND I buy frozen lunches from Trader Joe’s A LOT and I’m actually planning on doing a review post on some of them because there are some real hit or misses out there.

3 thoughts on “From Scratch Snob

  1. Hey, what happened? This was one of the first blogs I found on wordpress and I remember it made me think that maybe I could do it too. Don’t waste all of your ‘A’ material on twitter. It’s so fleeting.

    Plus, awesome food pics kick ass.

Leave a Reply

