Leftover Food Snob

I don’t even eat Thanksgiving leftovers. This is not a joke. There are a few things I can stomach the next day but the general idea of leftovers just grosses me out. Whenever I tell people this the usual response is:

Girl, you crazy! Some stuff is better the next day.

To that I say:

Right.

You can only imagine how this problem is so not cost-effective for someone who loves to cook. #FoodWasted. I felt I needed to stop the madness so I really dug deep to the root of my issues. I figured out that my main issue is that I really don’t like the idea of reheated meat. Therefore, as long as I’m working with meatless meals, I can at least eat it again for one day. I especially love it when I find a meatless meal that’s actually meant to be cold. Bypass the whole microwave thing completely!

This week I made the ever-so-famous Orzo Pasta Salad.

Orzo Pasta Salad

Orzo Pasta Salad

There really is no real recipe for this, you add whatever you want to it. I added the following:

  • Chopped Red Onion
  • Sliced Grape Tomatoes
  • Feta Cheese
  • Kalamata Olives
  • Spinach

If I had cucumbers I would have added that also. Add all of those ingredients to 16 oz. of Orzo (or any pasta, really). From there add about 1/3rd cup of Olive Oil and 1/3rd cup of Balsamic Vinegar. I added a little bit less than 1/3rd cup of each because I don’t like pasta salads to be “overly dressed.” Refrigerate overnight. This was the perfect work lunch.

I hope you enjoy and I promise my next post won’t be about food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

